CFPSL Oration 2019

Inauguration ceremony of the 18th Annual Academic Sessions of College of Forensic Pathologists of Sri Lanka and the College Oration 2019

The inauguration ceremony of the 18th Annual Academic Sessions was held on 22nd November 2019 at the Waters Edge, 316, Ethul Kotte, Battaramulla. The chief guest of this event was Hon. Justice Yasantha Kodagoda, PC, The president, Court of Appeal of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka. The guest of honor was Dr Jayantha Herath, Deputy Chief Forensic Pathologist, Ontario Forensic Pathology Service, Canada. Dr Sunil de Alwis, Additional secretary, Ministry of health, Sri Lanka was the special guest.

Fellowships of the College of Forensic Pathologists of Sri Lanka was awarded to the following members at the Inauguration Ceremony of the 18th Annual Academic Sessions. 

01.Prof Ananda Samarasekara 

02.Dr Asoka B Seneviratne 

03.Dr Jayantha C Herath 

04.Prof Indira D.G. Kitulwatte 

05.Dr Amal N Vadysinghe

CFPSL Oration 2019

Oration of the College of Forensic Pathologists of Sri Lanka, 2019 was delivered by the Prof Indira Kitulwatte, Professor in Forensic Medicine, University of Kelaniya. The topic was “Challenges in formulating medico-legal opinion – evidence based practice, the way forward”.

18th Annual Academic Sessions – 2019

The Annual Academic session was held on 22nd and 23rd November 2019 at the Water’s Edge, Ethul Kotte, Battaramulla. This event was fully funded by the Ministry of Health, Sri Lanka. A record number of 112 abstracts were reviewed by the organizing committee for this occasion. There were 14 free paper sessions where 81 oral presentations were made on different topics Forensic Pathology, Forensic Radiology, Forensic Histopathology, Clinical Forensic Medicine, Forensic Medical Education, Forensic Toxicology and Forensic Anthropology. The poster presentation was done electronically for the first time at this academic session. A total number of 22 posters were displayed during this session. The abstract book was uploaded, for the first time, as a supplementary issue to the Medico-Legal Journal of Sri Lanka. Plenary lectures were delivered by the following members. 

01. Dr Jayantha Herath – Quality assurance in Forensic Pathology – The Ontario, Canada Experience 

02. Dr S.P.A. Hewage – Forensic Anthropology in Sri Lanka, past, present and future 

The symposium titled “Towards a quality assured forensic service in the management of the dead following mass disasters: moving forward with lessons learned from the April 2019 bombing” was held during the academic session. The session was chaired by Prof Anuruddhi Edirisinghe and Dr. Uthpala Attygalle.  The following members presented during the symposium followed by a discussion. 

01. Prof Dinesh Fernando – Application of National Guidelines in the provision of a quality assured service in disaster 

02. Dr Ruchira Nadeera – April Bombing: The management of the dead at different sites 

03. Dr W.R.A. Saminda Rajapaksha – The challenges faced and measures taken to overcome while responding to the management of the dead in the April bombing 

04. Dr H. D. B. Herath – Commitment of the Ministry of Health to the management of dead in mass disasters towards quality assurance

Comments are closed.